The Library provides access to all sorts of information resources to support your learning and research. You can search all of our collections through the Library Catalogue, or learn more about different types of information resources below.
- Using the Library
Find your way
Find out about what Library services you can avail of, take our 360 Library tour and navigate your way around the Library. Each section includes a description of services available and allows you to become familiar with the Library before you visit us.
We're here to help
Library staff provide support, help, and training to enable you to get to grips with the literature of your subject and the Library's resources.
- Digital Scholarship
The Library welcomes opportunities to advance our Digital Scholarship. Our areas of contribution include content, technology, infrastructure, partnership and the practice-based expertise in our team.
- Open Scholarship
The Library supports the practice of research, education and knowledge exchange to enable open collaboration and learning.
How To Access Databases
It's very simple. You can access any of the Library's databases just by searching the Library Catalogue.
Simply enter the name of the database in the search box and click on the database link in the search results.
If you don’t know which database to search, go to the Library Guides webpages to find the key resources in your area.
Remember to log in for full access to the Library's databases.
Searching In Databases
When you are searching a database, you can access content by searching under:
- subject heading or keyword
- journal name
Getting to the full-text
All databases will provide you with citations of articles relevant to your search, i.e. author name, article title, journal title, year, volume and page numbers. Many will also provide you with an abstract or short summary of the article, to help you ascertain how relevant it is going to be. Some databases even provide you with the full-text of the journal articles.
If the full-text is not immediately available you may see an SFX symbol:
SFX is a linking technology that will link you from a citation in a database to the full-text of that journal, wherever the Library has made it available (often in a different database). Simply click on the SFX icon and choose the relevant option from the menu that appears. If the Library does not have a subscription to the journal you need, you can apply for an Inter-Library Loan or Google Scholarcan often point you to a freely available version of the article,
You will save a lot of time by attending a Library training event, which will teach you which databases are most relevant for your subject area and how to make best use of those databases.
A database is an organised collection or index of published data. Databases are a key resource for study or research. The Library provides access to hundreds of databases in order to make it possible for students and academics to find out what has been published on a topic.
• Some databases are multidisciplinary and index items across many subject areas.
• Some databases are subject specific and index materials from a specific subject or discipline.
• Some databases provide access to specific types of information.