Chat is offline

There is extensive access to databases and other electronic resources which complement the printed Special Collections and Archives material. We have prepared a useful Electronic Resources for Special Collections and Archives  [PDF] guide which contains a list of the principal electronic resources arranged by subject.

Electronic Resources by Subject

Archaeology

British & Irish Archaeological Bibliography

Corpus of Electronic Texts

Encyclopedia of Irish History & Culture

Oxford Art Online

Irish History Online

Medieval & Early Modern Sources Online

Ordnance Survey of Ireland Map Viewer

History – General

Arts & Humanities Data Service Historical Datasets

Brepolis

The Emerging Tradition, 1500-1700

Empire Online

C19-nineteenth century indexes

History – Irish

1901 & 1911 Census Data

Encyclopedia of Irish History & Culture

Empire Online

Griffith’s Valuation

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers

Irish History Online

Find My Past

Medieval & Early Modern Sources Online

Northern Ireland: a Divided Community

Oireachtas Debates

Ordnance Survey of Ireland Historic Map Viewer

State Papers Online

Stormont Papers

History – Family

1901 & 1911 Census Data

Dictionary of Irish Biography

Griffith’s Valuation

Find My Past

Ordnance Survey of Ireland Historic Map Viewer

Irish Studies

1901 & 1911 Census Data

Encyclopedia of Irish History & Culture

Empire Online

Griffith’s Valuation

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers

Irish History Online

Find My Past

Northern Ireland: a divided community

Oireachtas Debates

Ordnance Survey of Ireland Historic Map Viewer

Literary Resources

Coleridge’s Collected Letters

Dictionary of Irish Biography

Digital Preservation of Publishing in Irish America

ECCO: Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Eighteenth Century Journals Online

Encyclopedia of Irish History & Culture

English Short Title Catalogue

Google Books

Internet Archive

Irish Books in Print

JSTOR

Literature Online

Medieval Travel Writing

C19: the nineteenth Century Index

OED: Oxford English Dictionary

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Oxford Reference Online

Past Masters

Perdita Manuscripts

Project Gutenberg

World Shakespeare Bibliography

Newspapers

British Newspapers Index

Burney Newspaper Collection

Guardian/Observer Archive

Irish Newspaper Archive

Irish Times & Irish Times Digital Archive

New York Times Digital Archive

NEXIS newspapers

SCOOP

Times Digital Archive

UK/EIRE Reference Centre

Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers & Periodicals

Marie Boran

Boran, Marie

Special Collections Librarian
Email: marie.boran@nuigalway.ie
Tel: +353 91492543

Margo Donohue

Donohue, Margo

Research and Learning / Acquisitions Assistant
Email: margo.donohue@nuigalway.ie
Tel: +353 91 493476

Geraldine Curtin

Curtin, Geraldine

Research and Learning Assistant
Email: geraldine.curtin@nuigalway.ie
Tel: +353 91493476